Skip to content

Vidi: The Past

July 6, 2009

This is a test of the new bookmarking script I’m working on. It it works then it should collect links during the week and then compile them into one post on a Friday.
The Archaeology of the Mediterranean World: The Houses of Lakka Skoutara
Bill Caraher has plans and photos of houses he’s examined whilst out on fieldwork at Lakka Skoutara.

UNESCO World Heritage Site Monte Alb of Mexico in 3D CyArk
The hugely exciting CyArk project has been scanning Monte Alb, a Zapotec site in Mexico. If, like me, you lose track of which Mexican cultures are which, Monte Alb was founded after 500BC and abandoned after AD1000. That would put them around the same time as the Mayans, but before the Aztecs.

A Don’s Life by Mary Beard – Times Online – WBLG: Was Alexander the Great a Slav?
Mary Beard comments on the Miller letter that’s been doing the rounds. She’s not convinced it’s good history.

Macedonians, Slavs, and Greeks
N.S. Gill at is also discussing the ethnicity of the ancient Macedonians.

Got Medieval: Stonhenge Hidden in Windows 7 (from Americans, anyway)
Carl Pyrdum has found a secret Stonehenge in Windows 7. That must surely almost make up for the embarrasment of being outed as a user of Windows. ;)

human rights archaeology: cultural heritage and community: Goosed by UNICRI
A paper presented by the Director of the United Nations Interregional Crime and Justice Research Institute (UNICRI) bears a staggering resemblance to lots of other papers, books and blog posts written on crime and the antiquities trade recently. The extent of copying is astonishing.

Visit Western Sahara SAND AND DUST
There’s an opportunity to dig where no-one has dug before. I know all archaeology is supposed to be like that, but I did once spend two weeks digging a barn and finding nothing, till the local Museum admitted they’d lost the paperwork and umm… actually they remembered digging that. However, the Western Sahara is particularly undug and it looks like a great opportunity.

Abnormal Interests: It Looks Like I Joined the Wrong Club
Duane Smith explains why it’s not always a good idea to be an ancient historian if you want to keep up with ancient history.

Airminded – Web log beg: travel 2
Brett Holman want you to tell him where to go. In England and Wales, as he’ll be over for a short while.

John J. Dwyer’s Black Confederates
Another post from Civil War Memory on Black confederates. I’ve no ideological axe to grind on this. It would surprise me if there were many, if any, Black confederates – but then people do do surprising things. What dissuades me is that most of the arguments I’ve seen for Black confederates ignore what the reality of slavery was in the South. You have to smile at arguments like:
“They loved the South and were delighted to be identified with its cause, which they understood to be freedom. They viewed the North as a bully seeking to force its will on others who wished to live as they pleased.”

  1. July 6, 2009 5:25 pm

    Obviously I should add I’m working with my own local definition of Friday here.

  2. July 6, 2009 8:14 pm

    Being a bit dumb here Alun, – but are these sites you have bookmarked in a browser during the week?

    • July 6, 2009 9:09 pm

      Not exactly. It’s a script I’m working on to replace ma.gnolia which I used to use. You can do something similar with, but this allows me to store anything with tags and pull the entries tagged ‘past’ out into one post each Friday. I can then pull the philosophy/politics posts out in another on Sundays and so on.

      The posting tool just pushes everything together in one go. It saves me opening up the blog editor and saving drafts each time I add a link. When I’ve got it working better then I’ll put up a post about it. It’s related to this post at 11D on blogging.

  3. July 6, 2009 9:35 pm

    Ta, I think I got it, my original question was going to be ‘what filter are you using?’ and you answered that as well.

Comments are closed.


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

